Eugene Jazz Composer’s Orchestra

IMG_0691The Eugene Jazz Composer’s Orchestra was a 17-piece big band founded by Douglas Detrick and David Swigart that performed original music by its founders, Justin Morell, Andrew Rowan, and other composers from Oregon. Originally called the “Detrick/Swigart Jazz Orchestra” the group performed many concerts at Eugene, Oregon’s Cozmic Pizza over four years from 2007 to 2011. All the pieces featured on this page are original compositions and arrangements by Douglas Detrick.

The band featured many members of the Eugene jazz community:

Saxophones: Hashem Assadullahi, Steve Owen, Idit Sher, Jesse Cloninger, Andy Rosenberg, Charlie Gurke, Chris Clark, Eric Johnson, Jacob Thomas, Joe Manis

Trombones: Glenn Griffith, Glenn Bonney, Ryan Chaney, Derek Bondy, Todd Johnson

Trumpets: Douglas Detrick, Josh Deutsch, Sarah Viens, Dave Bender, Andrew Rowan, David Swigart

Rhythm Section: Justin Morell, guitar; Andy Washburn, Jeff Lovell, Ben Darwish, piano; Josh Tower, bass; Jason Palmer, Josh Hakanson, Jeff Cumpston, Kevin Congleton, drums

The Size of It, The Color – featuring Special Guest Ron Miles, Trumpet
01 The Size of It, The Color

No More Once Again – featuring Jeff Lovell, piano; Justin Morell, guitar
No More Once Again

Worse For Wear – featuring Charlie Gurke, Bari Saxophone

Worse for Wear (Big Band)

Green Dolphin Street, by Bronislau Kaper, arr. Detrick – featuring Douglas Detrick, trumpet
Green Dolphin St.

Night Dreamer, by Wayne Shorter, arr. Detrick – featuring Josh Deutsch, trumpet; Steve Owen, tenor saxophone; Glenn Griffith, trombone.
Night Dreamer

The Intensity of Possibility, for brass and soprano saxophone – featuring Hashem Assadullahi
The Intensity of Possibility

Rumba – featuring Charlie Gurke, Bari Saxophone
05 Rumba